Remember Me
OR

 
$8.09
Retail $8.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 199
Quality Paper
ISBN 9781534485099
Make Way For Books
Two young girls, Lulu and Serena, find themselves alone parked in Dad’s SUV at a campground in Montana. Their mother has recently died of cancer, and their dad is now missing. Lulu is twelve with a strong sense of “stepping up” to problems, but the problem to care for herself and her sister is enormous. Money is limited to $67 and winter is coming. Being new to the area, they don’t have any friends or family to help them, and their dad has instilled in them a sense of secrecy to keep them from being separated by social services. Both girls are courageous and resilient, but still Lulu dreams of life before and yearns to be a normal twelve-year-old and not a grown-up-substitute. How can she find Dad and a home again?
Publisher Summary
"A poignant and powerful reminder that homelessness is not hopelessness." --Kirby Larson, author of Newbery Honor book Hattie Big Sky

Two sisters struggle to keep their father's disappearance a secret in this tender middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Twelve-year-old Lulu and her younger sister, Serena, have a secret. As Daddy always says, "it's best if we keep it to ourselves," and so they have. But hiding your past is one thing. Hiding where you live--and that your Daddy has gone missing--is harder.

At first Lulu isn't worried. Daddy has gone away once before and he came back. But as the days add up, with no sign of Daddy, Lulu struggles to take care of the responsibilities they used to manage as a family.

Lulu knows that all it takes is one slip-up for their secret to come spilling out, for Lulu and Serena to be separated, and for the good things that have been happening in school to be lost.

But family is all around us, and Lulu must learn to trust her new friends and community to save those she loves and to finally find her true home.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
I Am David Wind Up Junko Tabei Masters the Mountains Angus and Sadie The Saturdays Hunger Winter: A World War II Novel The Million Dollar Race Once Upon a Camel The False Prince (the Ascendance Series, Book 1): Volume 1 By the Great Hornspoon! Bob My Brother Abe: Sally Lincoln's Story The Road to Paris Blue Willow The Super Sluggers: Slumpbuster Breaker Boy Lost on a Mountain in Maine Peppermints in the Parlor Toliver's Secret Much ADO about Baseball