Remember Me
OR

 
$8.09
Retail $8.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 115
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780316539548
Make Way For Books
The dull, dreary lives of Kate and Tom are interrupted by their mysterious Uncle Herbert who sends them on an adventure aboard a magical steam train, the Silver Arrow. They cheerfully assume the tasks of conductor, fireman and engineer while boarding animal passengers who can talk to them and each other. As the story unfolds, Kate realizes all of the animals are really from endangered species and need to return to their homes before becoming extinct. But it is Tom’s creativity that sees them through to success!
Publisher Summary
"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."-- Ann Patchett From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl.

Dear Uncle Herbert,

You've never met me, but I'm your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane -- that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas -- and so does the Silver Arrow -- and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
The One and Only Ivan: A Newbery Award Winner Finding Langston What Were the Roaring Twenties? The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom Gooseberry Park Remarkables The False Prince (the Ascendance Series, Book 1): Volume 1 Tumtum & Nutmeg: Adventures Beyond Nutmouse Hall The Phantom Tollbooth Extra Credit Greystone Secrets: The Strangers Much ADO about Baseball The City of Ember Jake and Lily Escaping the Giant Wave Solimar: The Sword of the Monarchs Who Was Nikola Tesla? The Tornado Found The Road to Paris