Remember Me
OR

 
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Children's - 5th Grade+, Age 10+ 
READABILITY
7.4 
PAGES
256 p. ; 
PUBLISHER
$10.79
Retail $11.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 97
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780147516855
Make Way For Books
Readers are richly rewarded by this riveting storyline, exquisite writing, and powerful message. Brown skillfully shows how strength of mind can grow from hardship, how resilience is a choice, and how overcoming doubt and learning to trust in the face of unfathomable circumstances is possible. Historical setting influences the story and contrasts in regions within the US and abroad expand the reader's experience, and support the theme of surrendering yourself to "being a part of something larger and more powerful and more important than [yourself]." Every middle/high school student should read this.
Publisher Summary
The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'


For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March Candy Bomber: The Story of the Berlin Airlift's Chocolate Pilot Finding Langston Knights in Shining Armor Holes Mockingbird George vs. George: The American Revolution as Seen from Both Sides The Cay Mississippi Bridge Remember Me: A Search for Refuge in Wartime Britain Trains Willie McLean and the Civil War Surrender Framed! Secrets of Greymoor A Tangle of Knots Blizzard of Glass: The Halifax Explosion of 1917 Pink and Say The Brooklyn Bridge: The Story of the World's Most Famous Bridge and the Remarkable Family That Built It Washington Is Burning Hannah of Fairfield