Remember Me
OR

 
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Children's - 5th Grade+, Age 10+ 
READABILITY
7.4 
PAGES
256 p. ; 
PUBLISHER
$10.79
Retail $11.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 177
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780147516855
Make Way For Books
Readers are richly rewarded by this riveting storyline, exquisite writing, and powerful message. Brown skillfully shows how strength of mind can grow from hardship, how resilience is a choice, and how overcoming doubt and learning to trust in the face of unfathomable circumstances is possible. Historical setting influences the story and contrasts in regions within the US and abroad expand the reader's experience, and support the theme of surrendering yourself to "being a part of something larger and more powerful and more important than [yourself]." Every middle/high school student should read this.
Publisher Summary
The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'


For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
What Was Ellis Island? Blood on the River: James Town, 1607 Mississippi Bridge All God's Critters Knights in Shining Armor Twenty and Ten Pappy's Handkerchief Sybil Ludington's Midnight Ride The Amazing Impossible Erie Canal Walking with Miss Millie Bronco Charlie and the Pony Express Great Escapes #4: Survival in the Wilderness Hoop Genius: How a Desperate Teacher and a Rowdy Gym Class Invented Basketball Finding Langston George Washington, Spymaster: How the Americans Outspied the British and Won the Revolutionary War The Story of Salt Million-Dollar Throw The Great Trouble: A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel Little Lord Fauntleroy Soul Lanterns