Remember Me
OR

 
The School for Whatnots
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
 
AGE
Children's - 3rd-7th Grade, Age 8-12 
READABILITY
5.4 
PAGES
320 p. ; 
KEYWORDS
 
SUBJECTS
 
OTHER FORMATS:
$8.99
Retail $9.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 81
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780062838506
Publisher Summary
From master of suspense author Margaret Peterson Haddix comes another page-turning stand-alone adventure perfect for fans of Cog and Bad Magic.

No matter what anyone tells you, I'm real.

That's what the note says that Max finds under his keyboard.

He knows that his best friend, Josie, wrote it. He'd know her handwriting anywhere. But why she wrote it--and what it means--remains a mystery.

Ever since they met in kindergarten, Max and Josie have been inseparable. Until the summer after fifth grade, when Josie disappears, leaving only a note, and whispering something about "whatnot rules."

But why would Max ever think that Josie wasn't real? And what are whatnots?

As Max sets to uncover what happened to Josie--and what she is or isn't--little does he know that she's fighting to find him again, too. But there are forces trying to keep Max and Josie from ever seeing each other again. Because Josie wasn't supposed to be real.

This middle grade thriller from Margaret Peterson Haddix delves into the power of privilege, the importance of true friendship, and the question of humanity and identity. Because when anyone could be a whatnot, what makes a person a real friend--or real at all?
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Bob Thunder from the Sea James and the Giant Peach Bub, Snow, and the Burly Bear Scare Dolphin Treasure Remarkables The Saturdays Into the Abyss Night Journeys Seaward Born (Reprint) Word of Mouse Redeemed The Sword in the Tree Call Me Francis Tucket Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures The Adventures of Tom Sawyer The Westing Game (Puffin Modern Classics) The Gammage Cup: A Newbery Honor Award Winner Among the Enemy The Detective's Assistant