Remember Me
OR

 
Unsettled
AUTHOR
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Children's - 3rd-7th Grade, Age 8-12 
READABILITY
3.7 
PAGES
368 p. ; 
KEYWORDS
 
SUBJECTS
 
PUBLISHER
OTHER FORMATS:
$8.99
Retail $9.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 56
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780063044715
Make Way For Books
Talk about pre-teen girl angst! Nurah and her Muslim family choose to make a new life in Peachtree City, Georgia, a very long way their home in Karachi, Pakistan. They bring with them a love of family and a desire for American opportunities. While Owais, her older brother, fits in by making friends and winning swim meets, Nurah struggles with everything: lunchtime friendships, unfamiliar clothing, and disappointing swim meets (even though she adores swimming!). Nurah finds her confidence by using her Muslim beliefs against bullying on multiple fronts. ‘Unsettled’ is exactly how she feels until she finds a way to help others. Cleverly phrased in rich figurative language and free verse.
Publisher Summary
For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

A lyrical coming of age story exploring family, immigration, and most of all belonging." --Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound

"This empowering story will resonate with people who have struggled to both fit in and stay true to themselves." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

"A gorgeously written story, filled with warmth and depth. --Hena Khan, author of Amina's Voice

When her family moves from Pakistan to Peachtree City, all Nurah wants is to blend in, yet she stands out for all the wrong reasons. Nurah's accent, floral-print kurtas, and tea-colored skin make her feel excluded, until she meets Stahr at swimming tryouts.

And in the water Nurah doesn't want to blend in. She wants to win medals like her star athlete brother, Owais--who is going through struggles of his own in the U.S. Yet when sibling rivalry gets in the way, she makes a split-second decision of betrayal that changes their fates.

Ultimately Nurah slowly gains confidence in the form of strong swimming arms, and also gains the courage to stand up to bullies, fight for what she believes in, and find her place.

#1 Indie Bestseller

May/June 2021 Kids' Indie Next List

A National Council of Teachers of English Notable Verse Novel
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World: The Extraordinary True Story of Shackleton and the Endurance The Westing Game (Puffin Modern Classics) The School Story Peppermints in the Parlor Lost on a Mountain in Maine The Bookstore Mouse Love, Ruby Lavender Jacob's Rescue The Year of Miss Agnes By the Great Hornspoon! Dear Levi: Letters from the Overland Trail: Letters from the Overland Trail Follow My Leader The Landry News Ida B: . . . and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World Who Stole the Wizard of Oz? Caddie Woodlawn The Man Who Loved Clowns The Stolen Years The Secret School Baseball Fever