Remember Me
OR

 
$16.19
Retail $17.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 84
Hardcover
ISBN 9781534406438
Make Way For Books
In 1910 West Texas, the last camel of the US Army roams the desert. Zada has lived a long and adventurous life from Turkey to America. She’s made friends with fellow camel racers for the Pasha and with many more camels on a rocky sailing ship. She has lately befriended two kestrels and their hatchlings. But the real adventure begins with a huge sandstorm when the parent birds are blown away. Zada lovingly rescues the babies and shelters them in the cave of a mountain lion. To calm them all, Zada shares stories of her life with the little ones. But Zada knows reuniting them with their parents may be her last and most difficult adventure.
Publisher Summary
Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this exquisite middle grade novel from Newbery Honoree and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt follows an old camel out to save two baby kestrel chicks during a massive storm in the Texas desert-- filled with over a dozen illustrations by Caldecott winner Eric Rohmann.

Zada is a camel with a treasure trove of stories to tell. She's won camel races for the royal Pasha of Smyrna, crossed treacherous oceans to new land, led army missions with her best camel friend by her side, and outsmarted a far too pompous mountain lion.

But those stories were from before. Now, Zada wanders the desert as the last camel in Texas. But she's not alone. Two tiny kestrel chicks are nestled in the fluff of fur between her ears--kee-killy-keeing for their missing parents--and a dust storm the size of a mountain is taking Zada on one more grand adventure. And it could lead to this achy old camel's most brilliant story yet.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Thunder from the Sea Breadcrumbs Night Journeys From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler The False Prince (the Ascendance Series, Book 1): Volume 1 Word of Mouse Sabotaged Gooseberry Park Mr. Tucket A Duet for Home Gentle Ben Word of Mouse The Mysterious Benedict Society Taffy of Torpedo Junction The Mysterious Benedict Society Greystone Secrets: The Strangers Finding Junie Kim Ruby Holler Cabin on Trouble Creek Runaway Ralph