Remember Me

Into the Firestorm: A Novel of San Francisco, 1906
Children's - 3rd-7th Grade, Age 8-12 
208 p. ; 
Retail $7.99

In Cart: 0
Available: 0
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780440421290
Publisher Summary
"I believe I can just see you on the streets of that bright city."

Gran's gone now, but her words live on with Nicholas Dray, almost twelve, as he makes his way from the hot cotton fields to that Queen of Cities: San Francisco. Nick's on his own for the first time, with nowhere to turn. Then he meets jaunty, talkative Pat Patterson, owner of the most beautiful store-and the friendliest golden dog-in all the city. And for the first time in months, Nick feels safe. Safe in San Francisco.

But the year is 1906, the month is April, and early one morning the walls begin to shake. The floor begins to buckle. And the earth opens up. A devastating earthquake and then raging firestorms ravage the city, and Nick is right in the middle of it all. But for a young boy who's got few ties and nothing to lose, what's the right choice: escape to safety or stay-at deadly risk-to help others?

From acclaimed author Deborah Hopkinson comes a suspenseful and carefully researched novel of the Great 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fire and of one boy's heroic fight to survive it.
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
The Finest Hours (Young Readers Edition): The True Story of a Heroic Sea Rescue About Parrots: A Guide for Children Air Raid--Pearl Harbor!: The Story of December 7, 1941 Fire at the Triangle Factory Jack's Path of Courage: The Life of John F. Kennedy Hunger Winter: A World War II Novel Falcons in the City: The Story of a Peregine Family Noah's Ark: A Story from the Bible The Stray and the Strangers About Hummingbirds: A Guide for Children Pearl Harbor Is Burning!: A Story of World War II Earthquake Terror Children of Exile, 1 Some Kind of Courage Explorers Who Got Lost Where the Red Fern Grows Bat Loves the Night National Geographic Readers: Titanic Sarah Whitcher's Story The False Prince (the Ascendance Series, Book 1): Volume 1