Remember Me
OR

 
$5.94
Retail $6.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 25
Paperback
ISBN 9780064406192
Publisher Summary
Twelve-year-old Mary and her older brother and sister tend the family farm on Michigan's Mackinac Island while their father is away fighting the British in the War of 1812

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Great Trouble : A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel Joshua's Song House of Tailors Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule Gathering of Days Roman Conspiracy Stonewall John Paul Jones : The Pirate Patriot Annie's War Only the Names Remain : The Cherokees and the Trail of Tears Escape to Liechtenstein : The Young Refugees Sugar Into the Firestorm : A Novel of San Francisco, 1906 Sent Lily's Crossing Snow Treasure Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes Ida B : . . . and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and Possibly Save the World Wintering Well Treasure Island