Remember Me
OR

 
$6.29
Retail $6.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available:
Paperback
ISBN 9780064406192
Publisher Summary
Twelve-year-old Mary and her older brother and sister tend the family farm on Michigan's Mackinac Island while their father is away fighting the British in the War of 1812

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Emma's River Traitor : The Case of Benedict Arnold Across the Lines Blood on the River : James Town, 1607 Some Kind of Courage Sent Diary of Laura's Twin Emma Dilemma and the Camping Nanny Stonewall Invention of Hugo Cabret : A Novel in Words and Pictures Daniel at the Siege of Boston 1776 Young Patriot : The American Revolution As Experienced by One Boy Risked Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes Hunger for Learning : A Story About Booker T. Washington Sugar John Paul Jones : The Pirate Patriot Into the Firestorm : A Novel of San Francisco, 1906 Iron Thunder : The Battle Between the Monitor & the Merrimac: A Civil War Novel SeeSaw Girl